IX: Lungwort

Plants that help you breathe easier.

nonidi, the 19th of Pluviôse, Year CCXXXI
Lungwort in bloom. Photo via Wikimedia Commons.

Good morning. Today is nonidi, the 19th of Pluviôse, Year CCXXXI. We celebrate la pulmonaire, an herbal flower and also a form of lichen.

💡
We're going to mainly feature the herb today, but let's take a quick look at this very special lichen. It's the foliose kind, meaning it looks leafy, and each of those "leaves" has an extremely veiny appearance, as if it's being drained by a vampire. Like the herb, this appearance resembled lungs to medieval physicians, so it was assumed that it would be good to eat for respiration. Fun fact: it's not, really. However, there are some mild anti-inflammatory qualities, and all that experimenting with it led people to realize that it's quite good for tanning leather, brewing beer, or dyeing things orange. It's even an ingredient in perfumes, and since sniffing is breathing in, I guess it's good for the lungs after all.

I've struggled to breathe for most of my life. In my childhood, I developed a severe asthma to grass, which severely curtailed the sports I could enjoy playing. Into adolescence, my sinuses seemed to shrink, and people often asked if I had a cold when I was talking. I suffered panic attacks in my 20s and 30s, panting as if a tremendous weight was pressed on my chest. And then, when I turned 40, I staggered up a staircase and collapsed with a pulmonary embolism and nearly died.

I spent two days in the hospital while they tried to figure out what had gone wrong and why. The blood clot began in my leg – as these things tend to do, but it still seems like a strange origin for a breathing problem – then migrated in flicks and flecks to my lungs. I had been laboring to breathe when doing simple tasks, but breathing was always difficult for me, and I just thought I had fallen dangerously out of shape.

Instead, my blood was clotting too easily. It was already clotty – I also had a stroke when I turned 30, when a similar problem in my neck flicked some gnarly clots into my brain stem – and the medicine I had been taking only added to the problem. The decision was obvious: hit blood thinners for the rest of my life.

So let's talk about flowers.